A Part of the Community: Then and Now
The Marshall House has always been an integral part of the Leesburg community. During the 19th and early 20th centuries the house was known as Oak Hill, and denoted the entrance to the town from its prominent position along a major east-west thoroughfare that bisects Leesburg.
Prior to 1860, major alterations to the structure created the building one sees today. During the Civil War, the enlarged residence served as a girl’s school. In the early 20th-century, the residence was occupied by Yvon Pike, descendant of Zebulon Pike, who sold the property to Northcutt Ely, Executive Assistant to Secretary of the Interior Ray Lyman Wilbur, in the Hoover administration.
When The Marshall House, then known as Dodona Manor, was purchased by the Marshalls in 1942, the property was already a well-known local landmark. As the home of Leesburg’s most prominent citizen, The Marshall House continued to be the focus of the community as the arrivals and departures of General Marshall, his wife, Katherine, and their guests were duly noted in the local newspapers.
Today, The Marshall House is situated in a park-like setting of trees and gardens on a knoll overlooking Leesburg. In its unique location on East Market Street, the museum contributes to the character and viability of the town’s historic center, uniting the business and cultural interests of this vibrant region with the international community of Washington D.C. and the 16 nations of the Marshall Plan.